Starbucks Holiday Drinks: Are They Gluten Free?

It’s officially red cup season!

starbucks-red-cups

I love Starbucks. I am not a complete addict who goes there everyday. Its a once a week (maybe) kind of treat to me. But I do thoroughly enjoy the drinks when I do go.

But as holiday season approaches, there are a bunch of new items on the menu that I am unsure are ‘safe’ for us celiacs.

So, I contacted Starbucks directly asking them if they had a list of holiday items that were gluten free. Here is their response:

Starbucks is unable to guarantee a “gluten-free” environment in our retail locations due to the potential for cross contamination with gluten-containing products. The open environment and operating procedures of our store locations may present additional risk for gluten-sensitive customers aside from the gluten-containing ingredients themselves. “Gluten-free” is a claim with specific requirements defined by government agencies and industry standards. We are unable to make this claim on a product unless the item is specifically formulated and manufactured to meet the definition of the claim.”

This is exactly the response I was expecting and it is totally understandable.

Now, if you know the specific location you go to is safe and reliable with avoiding cross contamination, I have some more info that might interest you.

Through my research, I have found that these are the holiday drinks that should be ‘safe’ (sans cross contamination mentioned above).

  • Hot Chocolate
  • Peppermint Hot Chocolate (My personal favorite!)
  • Gingerbread Latte (I have seen this is GF on numerous websites but it still seems a little unsafe to me due to the syrup used. Take your chances on this one if you realllllly want to.)
  • Peppermint Mocha
  • Eggnog Latte

Enjoy!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Starbucks Holiday Drinks: Are They Gluten Free?

  1. Gingerbread frozen yogurt at the local frozen yogurt place is gluten free. It’s weird to me too….since the word “bread” is in it. But I guess they can make the flavor artificially without any gluten products.

    Do you happen to know if the chai lattes (with soy milk, not regular milk…my body hates everything…) are gluten free? They are my favorite latte type drink.

    1. I am pretty sure the chai lattes are gluten free! I found a list of ingredients on livestrong.com and they are all safe. But I would ask the barista at the Starbucks you visit to be careful of cross contamination. And I am fine with dairy but always ask for soy milk at Starbucks anyway because I think it tastes better 🙂

      1. I think it tastes better in coffee and chai too lol. Although oddly hate the taste of soy milk plain or in anything else. For home I buy rice milk or hazelnut milk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s