Celiac Support

Living with Celiac Disease is hard. And no, I am not looking for pity. I’m just stating a fact. You have to live your life in fear of food. Something that should make you stay alive could possibly kill you. What makes it a lot easier, however, is support from loved ones.

I feel lucky for the family I have. I became very sick around January of 2008. I came down with Strep Throat and never really seemed to fully recover. Yes, I didn’t have a sore throat anymore, but I was still feeling like I was sick all the time. I would sleep for 12 hours a day and still be tired. I would be in a complete fog all the time. I would have frequent headaches and joint pains. No one could figure out why. So, my mom fought for me. She took me to countless numbers of doctors until I was finally diagnosed with Celiac Disease in April of 2009.

When I was diagnosed, it felt amazing. Even though I was still sick, I had an answer. I knew what I could do to finally feel better. My family all came together and helped me get my new gluten free life in order. My parents took me food shopping for new foods and started cooking separate gluten free meals for me every day.

My parents and siblings were my biggest support system at this time, and still are to this day. I know I am one of the lucky ones. There are some people with Celiac Disease whose families don’t even believe they have the disease, let alone take time out of their days to help them cook safe food to eat. I feel bad for those people. But the Celiac community online is amazing. Ever since I started researching the disease I noticed how supportive and amazing everyone is to each other. So let’s all support those who don’t have the support at home.

Leave a Reply

