Gluten Free Restaurant Review: Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse is probably one of my favorite restaurants of all time. My family and I used to go there quite frequently when I was younger. We would always start off with the delicious pumpernickel bread and Bloomin Onion, which was my absolute favorite part of going there. However, when I went gluten free we stopped eating there completely. My parents and the rest of my family felt it wouldn’t be fair for me to go and sit and watch them eat the things I missed most, while I waited for my plain grilled chicken and vegetables.

But that all changed about two years ago, when we discovered that Outback had a gluten free menu. Their gluten free menu has actually been around for more than two years but I had just not known about it. I was a little skeptical to try it, thinking it would just be very bland like other restaurants, but I was way off. The first item I tried on the gluten free menu was the Alice Springs Chicken, which was grilled chicken with cheese, bacon, and onions on top. It was amazing. After that, I was hooked.

The menu also has other numerous appetizing gluten free dishes, including Grilled Porkchops, Babyback Ribs, many different types of steaks, and my personal favorite- Filet and Lobster Tail. I only recently tried the filet and lobster a few weeks ago when my boyfriend took me to Outback for our anniversary. I usually don’t order things so decadent, but since it was a special occasion, I splurged a little. Anyone who has ever had lobster knows how tasty it is, and paired with the steak made it even better. The flavor on the two things was so obvious and mouth-watering, I could not believe it was gluten free.

Here's a picture of the Filet and Lobster Tail. Taken by me.
Here’s a picture of the Filet and Lobster Tail. Taken by me.

I have yet to try everything on Outback’s gluten free menu, but I am pretty close. I enjoy everything I eat there and look forward to trying everything else. If any of my readers know any other gluten free restaurants I should try, let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

